So, you’re starting your course in Drama/Film at the University of Manchester

A blog post by Avtarnika Sharma, BA Film & East Asian Studies with Honours

So, you’re starting your course in Drama/Film at the University of Manchester.

If you’re excited, confused, nervous, sceptical – or anywhere else on the emotional spectrum, I’m here to let you know that your feelings are extremely valid.

This is a blog post from Avtarnika Sharma, a recent graduate of Film and East Asian Studies.

Looking back to the start of my journey at the University of Manchester in late-2018, I was experiencing a roller-coaster of sorts back home in Mumbai. After battling a bad case of dengue fever in September and eventually missing out on Welcome Week, I finally landed in the UK on October 1st. Being an international student from India, studying Film and English Language at the University of Manchester, I had no idea what to expect. “Should I brush up on my knowledge of British film and television? Is my accent too thick? Wait, what if their accents are too thick?”, I wondered.

After attending my first lectures and seminars however, all of my questions were answered one-by-one. For starters, I quickly realised that the ‘English Language’ part of my degree was just not doing it for me. After mustering up enough courage to talk to the university staff, knock on some office doors and get some signatures, I changed my major to East Asian Studies in my second week. In the film studies programme, everything was a breeze. I attended my first seminar where we were discussing Orson Welles’ Citizen Kane, a film that I have not yet seen, to this date. After staying silent for the first hour of the seminar, I decided to chip in with my analysis of a scene which we watched in class (I reiterate – from a film that I have never seen), and a humongous weight was lifted off my shoulders. I vividly remember that feeling of “Wait, maybe I’m getting the hang of this – and it’s not as hard as it seems?”

As someone who hates talking to people, wishing I was wearing an invisibility cloak every time I stepped out, I’ve realised that talking to people, is precisely what helped me survive these past three years. The times I had questions – and didn’t get them answered – I suffered. So, if you’ve got questions, try and get them answered. I know it’s hard, trust me, I’ve been there. But the university staff, your classmates – they’re all there to help. You might not get your answers every time, but hey, at least you tried!

This past year has been a long one – possibly the longest one of my life. Having spent my final year studying remotely from Mumbai, I look back fondly at the great memories I made in Manchester. However, I still have some regrets. There are many fun things I wish I’d have done, but never got around to actually doing. So, here’s my advice: don’t be like me. I know I’m waxing philosophical here – but try to make the most of your time at university. Go join that society, participate in that event, attend that film screening, and most importantly – enjoy yourself, because you deserve it.

Leave a comment